2015   EVITA

9 - 25 April 2015


EVITA is a musical with music by Andrew Lloyd Webber and lyrics by Tim Rice. It brings to life the dynamic, larger-than-life persona of Eva Peron. Beginning with a young and ambitious Eva, the production follows her meteoric rise to sainthood. The story tells of the enormous wealth and power she gained and the means by which she became the beloved Evita.


As an illegitimate 15 year old, Eva escaped her dirt-poor existence for the bright lights of Buenos Aires. Driven by ambition and blessed with charisma, she was a starlet at 22, the President's mistress at 24 and First Lady at 27 - and dead at 33. Eva Peron, "Saint to the working-class, reviled by the aristocracy and mistrusted by the military", was destined to leave a fascinating political legacy unique in the 20th century.

Told through a compelling score that fuses haunting chorales with exuberant Latin, pop and jazz influences, EVITA creates an arresting theatrical portrait as complex as the woman herself.


EVITA's memorable "Don't Cry For Me Argentina" was recorded and released in 1976, followed by the complete double album release, which went gold. Its success led to productions in London's West End, winning the Laurence Olivier Award for Best Musical.

Following stints in Los Angeles and San Francisco, EVITA premiered on Broadway at the Broadway Theatre on 25 September 1979. The production ran for an incredible 1,567 performances (more than twice as many as "Jesus Christ Superstar"). EVITA won an impressive seven Tony Awards, including Best Book, Best Score and Best Musical of the Year. In 1981 the EVITA cast recording was awarded a Grammy Award.

This new version of EVITA is based on the 2006 London production and includes the song "You Must Love Me" (from the movie featuring Madonna).


Eva Peron - Joanne Sale
Che - Bradford Meurk
Peron - Ben Jones
Magaldi - Richard Brown
Mistress - Madison Horman


 April Xu-Holland, Dianne Smith, Hannah Mills, Hayley Tinning, 
Jess Linsley, Katherine Lyons, Merryn Osborne, Rebecca Palmer, 
Sarah Leishman, Sarah Payne, Tia Rongokea, Cam Dow, Dave Chisholm, Grant Miller, Hayden Giles, Leith Marshall, Nick Ross, Samuel Gordon, Sator´e Chambers, Shane Brown, Terry Stewart, Trent Pedley, 
Ayesha Satya, Sarah Judd